Why India Is Divided Into States And Union Territories?

Why is country divided into states and union territories?

A country is divided into States and Union territories primarily because of administrative purposes.

The States Reorganization Act of 1956 abolished the British system of provinces and princely states.

In its place, new states were drawn based on ethnicity and language..

What is the difference between states and union territories?

Union Territory is a small administrative unit that is ruled by the Union. … To sum up in simple words the basic difference between state and union territory is that, a state has a separate governing body whereas, an union territory is directly governed by the central government or union government.

Which are the 9 union territories of India 2020?

Union Territories of IndiaAndaman and Nicobar Islands.Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu.Chandigarh.Lakshadweep.Puducherry.Delhi.Ladakh.Jammu and Kashmir.

How many union territories are there in India in 2019?

8 union territoriesIndia is a federal union comprising 28 states and 8 union territories, for a total of 36 entities. The states and union territories are further subdivided into districts and smaller administrative divisions.

Do union territories have elections?

—At the next general election to the House of the People and thereafter, the seats allotted under section 3 of the Representation of the People Act, 1950 (43 of 1950) to the Union territories in the House of the People shall be seats to be filled by persons chosen by direct election and for that purpose each Union …

Why are union territories made?

As per the Constitution provisions, during independence, the union territories were either not a part of India or they were too small to be made into a state. … It is necessary for them to be depending on the Union government. And in this way Union Territories were formed.

How many states and union territories India have in 2020?

28 statesThere are 28 states and 8 Union territories in the country. Union Territories are administered by the President through an Administrator appointed by him/her. From the largest to the smallest, each State/ UT of India has a unique demography, history and culture, dress, festivals, language etc.

How many states are there in India in 2020?

28 StatesAt Present India now has 28 States and 8 Union Territories. The erstwhile state of Jammu and Kashmir has been bifurcated into two Union Territories (UT) of J&K and Ladakh. The newly formed union territories have been formed under a reorganization act passed by the Parliament on 5-6 August 2020.

Which is the 29th state in India?

TelanganaTelangana – India’s 29th state is born. Celebrations in southern India greeted the creation of the new state of Telangana.

What are the 28 states in India?

Here is the list of 28 States in India and Their CapitalsAndhra Pradesh (Hyderabad) … Arunachal Pradesh (Itanagar) … Assam (Dispur) … Bihar (Patna) … Chhattisgarh (Raipur) … Goa (Panaji)

What are the 29 states and 7 union territories?

There are 29 states and seven Union territories in the country. Let’s take a look at the states and their capitals.Andhra Pradesh – Amravati. Amravati city plan. ( … Arunachal Pradesh – Itanagar. … Assam – Dispur. … Bihar – Patna. … Chhattisgarh – Atal Nagar (Naya Raipur) … Goa – Panaji. … Gujarat – Gandhinagar. … Haryana – Chandigarh.More items…•

Do union territories have CM?

The Parliament of India can pass a law to amend the constitution and provide a Legislature with elected Members and a Chief Minister for a union territory, as it has done for Delhi and Puducherry. In general, the President of India appoints an administrator or lieutenant governor for each UT.